Adventures in Short Sales

Oh my…how pathetic that I have written nothing since November!  Life has a funny way of twisting and turning to the point where it’s hard to remember from which direction you were coming from.  This past season has had many of those twists and turns for myself, my family, and my business.  Some smooth, gradual curves-in-the road that one enjoys while out for a Sunday early evening stroll.  Where each gentle turn of the road leads to some beautiful scenic treat.  While other turns have seemed like something out of The Wizard of Oz’s twister scene.  None-the-less, it’s been life. 

After being in real estate for the past 5 years I’ve watched my business begin to morph with the economy and the times we now have found ourselves in.  I went from handling only our family real estate ventures, to being both a buyers and listing agent, to now strictly a short sale agent.  And it’s crazy.  I took on my first listing because the guy needed some help and I felt compelled to do what I could to help.  So I waded into the short sale melee.  Before I knew it I had 8 short sale listings and an ulcer!  I knew it was time to get some help.  I found this great certification course and signed up.  Suddenly I was a CDPE (That’s Certified Distressed Property Expert) and up to my eyeballs in pre-foreclosures.  I have found even with this great certification, there’s nothing like good old fashioned experience that trains you!  Frankly even though it is stressful, I liked the idea of being able to help people who need help.  I knew it was time to take my business model in a different direction.  And so with the help, prodding, urging of my husband, that’s what I did. 

It’s been an adventure and a bitter sweet one at that.  The plan was for my mother to take on the role as my assistant as I was getting so busy it was inevitable that I would need one.  Mom and I have always worked well together and this was to be another one of our great mother and daughter (or Laurel and Hardy) moments.  Unfortunately this is where we were thrown into the twister of life.  My mom unexpectedly suffered a major stroke and passed away in April.  It is amazing how life comes to a standstill in the face of a tragedy.  We pushed through it and I continue on… I am maybe even a little more so dogmatic and determined to help those in need find their way out of a housing crisis and avoid foreclosure.  I know mom would have loved the excitement and warm fuzzy of it all. 

Helping homeowners find the light at the tunnel (and make sure it’s not a freight train) has been fulfilling.  Unfortunately there are many out there today that have found themselves underwater in their current situation.  Many are facing foreclosure and thankfully, there is an alternative.  A short sale is a foreclosure alternative that allows the homeowner to sell their house “short” of what the mortgage balance is.  My job is to negotiate with the lender(s), market the property, negotiate with the buyers, and navigate the transaction to the closing table.  I could make the Godfather sweat bullets!  I spend many a day with a phone glued to my ear and my eyeballs glued to the computer.   There are even cash incentives out there now for homeowners facing a housing crisis if they qualify.  If you or someone you know needs help, check out my website www.austinareashortsales.com for more information then you probably ever wanted to know.

For now though, it’s off to make some lender “an offer he can’t refuse.” This one’s for you mom!

 

About Kat's Home Finders

The purpose of this blog is to hopefully educate and help homeowners and prospective homeowners with the largest purchase they will probably ever make. My desire is to share my knowledge of the real estate market, make new friends, and meet new clients in the Austin area. I am happy to answer any questions you may have. Sign up to receive updated posts! View all posts by Kat's Home Finders

Leave a Reply

