Where’s My Buyer?

Do  you have a house on the market for sale right now that is not selling?  It’s been sitting for 30, 60, 90 or more days without so much as a low ball offer?  It pretty much stinks doesn’t it?  Ah yes, the first two weeks of impressive numbers of showings.  Your agent sending you glowing reports and feed back about how well the house has shown and how many people just love it.  And then ……NOTHING!  You’ve gone from raving about your agent to mumbling curses upon his or her family and pets when you call for the 12th time that day for an update only to get the voicemail.  Chances are, whether or not you like to admit it, they probably are doing and have done everything possible to sell your house.  How do I know this?  Because I have 2 listings myself that are just sitting!!!!  One of them happens to be one for our family investment business so yes, I know personally what this is like. 

Believe me, I’ve done everything.  Open houses, flyers, follow ups from showings.  I have not tried tap dancing in the driveway yet but that idea is sounding better and better.  I can hear you now saying, “but I did EVERYTHING that pushy agent told me to do!  I took great-aunt what’s her name’s picture down off the wall, I painted over the rose wall paper, I took down my collection of Barry Manilow LP’s that were hanging from the ceiling….” yes, yes…I am sure you did.  But sometimes, depending on your area you may just have to play the waiting game.  I know how much you did not want to hear that.  But it’s the truth. 

I have talked to many an individual that just wants to “check” and make sure their agent really is doing a good job.  Usually they are.  Believe it or not, no matter how fabulous they are, they can not manifest a buyer for you.  And if your agent can do that I need their number!  Be patient.  Listen to their advice.  It may be time for that dreaded price reduction.  <gasp!> If they really are a good agent and they’ve done their job your buyer may be right around the corner!

Now, go repent of all the mean thoughts you had about their hair falling out prematurely and send them a text to set up a meeting to see what the next step should be.  Before you know it your property will be sold and you’ll be moving on with your Barry Manilow collection!  I’ll be tap dancing in a driveway somewhere.  Be sure to honk when you drive by.

About Kat's Home Finders

The purpose of this blog is to hopefully educate and help homeowners and prospective homeowners with the largest purchase they will probably ever make. My desire is to share my knowledge of the real estate market, make new friends, and meet new clients in the Austin area. I am happy to answer any questions you may have. Sign up to receive updated posts! View all posts by Kat's Home Finders

One response to “Where’s My Buyer?

  • Jason

    Haha! So true, so true… It is funny how we need a scapegoat when things just aren’t going the way we would like. I believe things would go a lot smoother for sellers if they would just trust the agent they committed to and believe that they have the wisdom to sell your house. After all, the agent does stand to make some decent money and they don’t get paid unless it sells!

Leave a Reply

